April 11, 2011

  • The Bike Ride Fiasco.

    Sunday. 85 Degrees.  Very Rare around here in April.
    An afternoon Bike Ride was definitely in store!

    Boys on bikes.
    Girls in carrier behind Jeff’s bike.
    And we were Off.

    Bikepath 

    It’s still pretty drab. Not much color yet.
    We even found a pile of snow off in a wooded area.

    There are little bits of green showing up here and there….

    Bikepath Buds 

    We stopped at the usual bridges along the way.
    No toads or turtles to be found…..soon enough.

    Bikepath Creek 

    Bikepath Sam  

    And of Course! A Water Break…from all that hard work of riding along. ;)
    Bikepath Waterbreak3   Bikepath waterbreak1
    Bikepath Waterbreak2  

    Bikepath JL 

    About the time the sun was setting,
    we decided to make our way back home.
    BIkepath Setting Sun 

    5 Miles into our 7 1/2 mile trek, Jeff stopped for a minute.
    I wanted to keep my steady pace.

    I went ahead with two of the boys. 
    After riding a while…we turned around to see if they were coming.
    We saw No one.

    We waited. And waited. And waited. And waited.
    Finally I decided to go back to see what happened. 

    Coming toward me was Alex with Allison on his bike and Sophia on Jeff’s back.
    The tire on the bike carrier popped!

    Bikepath Sophia's Ride 

    Allison joined me on my bike.
    (My thighs were Burning by the time I got home!)
    Jeff had Sophia on his back…..she was too scared to ride up front! 
    She held on tight and was very Happy that way!

    Poor Jeff was still pulling the carrier which was acting like a parachute….
    (The weather man right about those 20 mph wind gusts he predicted for that evening!)

    We made it home…..lots of calories burned! =)
    Yesterday we had a little taste of summer….and I can’t wait!

     

    Hope you are having a wonderful Monday!

Comments (19)

  • love all the photo’s!!! Especially the one of you & your man…how sweet!  I am ready for warm warm warm too!!!! :)

  • Oh my, I can almost feel those burning thighs!! :) Sounds like a fun family memory though – why is it that the things that go wrong make for the best memories!?!

  • Looks like a fun outing, in spite of the blowout! Sometime I’ll tell you my bike carrier fiasco. It’s not pretty.We had awful winds here yesterday and were without power for most of the evening (and that was before the huge thunderstorm blew through!)

  • i was hoping that none of you got hurt when i read it was a fiasco…oh dear. i’m glad that they figured out a way to get home even though i’m sure it was very interesting to have the added ‘joy’ of trying to keep the ‘parachute’ on the back from draggin you backwards. glad that you guys made it home safely, a little more ‘fit’ then you had anticipated.

  • yay for calories burned and memories made!

  • We all headed out and rode bikes along the river yesterday even though it wasn’t 85* here. And we love our bike trailer and have put many miles on it!Bummer for flat tires…

  • i think one of the first times i ever read your blog it was a post/ pictures of you guys on a bike ride!didn’t know then how much i’d grow to love ya. :) sounds like a wonderful day.i like the shot of you and jeff. you’re so pretty, my dear.and the sunset. just gorgeous. looks like sophia had the best ride! :)

  • That looks like SO much fun. Until the flat tire part, of course.That trail looks just delightful. We like to go biking as a family too. We have a nice trail that winds through our small town.Oh, I am SO delighted for warmer weather!!  Glad you got out to enjoy it.

  • Awesome photo of you and Jeff.  You are so pretty.  :)   And Sophia on his back – way precious!  Yay for warm weather!  Hope you gets lots more!

  • While you were THORoughly enjoying that LOVEly warm weather, WE were having a SNOWstorm here in Arizona!!! I am happy for you. Really.  { ;   Warm weather is so delightful after so much blasted winter and we are warming up tomorrow. I am going to throw myself into the outdoor projects and try to beautify this little granny house and her area. I may even go for a nice walk. I recently told my hunny I’d like a bicycle. I want to ride, free and clear, getting my hair all crazy messed up. I even would welcome that thigh burn, because sure shootin’, I’d be a gentle, flat mile along and MY old little thighs would be SCREAMing for me to stop. Pilates helps, but whew! Not enough. Anyway, you are a doll, so is your hubby (don’t tell ‘im), and I love the photos of the kiddos and the little bit of green.

  • Such a fun way to spend the afternoon!  Well, not the flat tire part. ;)  That ride deserved a big bowl of ice cream! :) Oh, and I’ve been wanting to tell you I just love, love your playlist.  Sometimes I just stay here and listen.  ”Your Hands” feeds my soul these days.

  • That’s an outing you won’t forget!  A couple of years ago we went to walk on the trails at our park and got stuck in a huge downpour!  Levi was a toddler in a backpack on Scott’s back and we all ran over a mile back to our car- SOAKED!  But it was funny and we still laugh about it!

  • bike trailers seem to always add excitement to bike rides, huh : ) great pictures.way to go on the extra calorie burning …. always a bonus!

  • An adventure!  Fun thing is that those times always are so memorable!  I know about looking for that bit of green…we did that in Colorado.  You and your hubby are a great looking couple!!  Love the captures of the kids too.Spring has burst forth here…I know yours is coming!

  • sounds like some hard work coming home!  yay for spring though coming to visit you.  We’re starting to move into summer though with highs in the 90′s some days.

  • Looks like a fun adventure and b/c the tire popped will be one that will be remembered….. “Remember when…..”  Those kinds of adventures always make the best stories. Really wish we had a bike carrier like that -  for the twins to ride in.   Need to look into getting one.  We love riding but haven’t rode much at all since the twins arrived.  Still working on Miss Mae to figure out riding her bike without training wheels.

  • Fun times!  I can’t wait until our kids are all old enough to ride.  I love the picture of you with your husband, such a good looking couple… it’s no wonder your kiddos are beautiful!

  • I totally agree with the article. 2 5 5. It can’t really have effect, I believe this way. 8 link 3. Quite helpful piece of writing, thanks so much for your post. check go 5. Here, I do not really suppose this will have effect.

  • congratulations guys, quality information you have given!!!Frederick bicycles

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *