April 7, 2011

  • It started out as a nice day.
    Then the kids woke up.

    I do love them. Really I do. I love my life and I love spending everyday with them.
    But today……as the bickering began. and the picking began. and the negative began.

    When no one was excited to do the SUPER- DUPER fun lesson on China that I had planned.
    When no one wanted to take notes on the documentary that we were to watch.
    When no one did their chores until the third time they were told!
    And chicken blood spilled on my stove……

    That’s when I quickly slipped down into that low place of self pity.
    The dark hole with no ladder to climb out.  When you get to the bottom, you’re stuck.
    I was there. I continued to look level, not UP where I should have been.

    Chinese Flag 

    Instead of being an encouraging Mom, the one who builds her home with wisdom…..
    I tore mine down. I complained. I lectured.
    The kind of lecturing that went on and on sprinkled with guilt trips

    I’m sure all the kids heard was “Blah, blah, blah, blahhhhh, blaaaaaah, blah, blah.”
    I sent them all to their rooms to read because I wanted quiet.

    Then in the silence, in the angry silence I sat alone.
    And there, I realized…….
    I am the one who sets the tone here.
    I create the mood, and today I wasn’t creating a very good one.

    Studying China 

    My days with them are numbered. I was wasting one of them!
    I wasn’t taking the Grace that our God is always ready to give us.
    I was being self centered. I was the one being selfish.

    It’s my job to rise above, to lead these children of mine.
    Today I did a lousy job. a miserable job. a terrible job!

    So after I asked God to forgive me for my bad attitude.
    I told my kids to get into the car and I took them to get something they just love…..
    A $5.00 pizza from Little Ceasers. (Yeah, we have high standards around here! =)

    Today I am thankful for kids being so forgiving.
    Kids who love me no matter how ugly of an attitude I have. =)

    April6pic 

    Tomorrow is a new day.
    Tomorrow is a gift I will try not to take for granted.

    Here’s to a Happy Tomorrow.

Comments (29)

  • You are such a beautiful woman inside and out.  You are so right about setting the tone of the day… I’ve set that negative tone too many times.  Praying for forgiveness, that’s what I need to stop and do, that’s the key right there.  Great post!

  • Oh Dearie, I’ve done that, did that, SO many times. Set the wrong tone, etc. Thankfully, my 3 still love me and I’m a better, older mom. Tomorrow WILL be a better day! You should have that last picture of you (Hello Kitty) with your girlies framed and hanging where you’ll see it as soon as you get out of bed. That right there would start me off right!

  • I love how you’re so honest and really share your heart.  I too had one of those days but I kinda asked for it…I prayed for humility :P

  • Aw shucks… nothing like a little ceasers pizza to reset the day!  :)   

  • o my goodness.
    could i ever identify.
    with EVERYTHING! (well, except the homeschooling part…)
    i have had so many days just like this one, and so many times, just like He did for you, the Holy Spirit convicts me of my wrong and sets me straight.
    for which i am so very thankful.
    i just wish i could remember these kind of days when the kids wake up and start in…but, how many times do i bring it on myself too…
    sooo thankful that each day brings new chances, and new beginnings! and, also for children who quickly forgive…oh, i need to be more like that!!

    AWESOME post Liz!!

  • It’s nice to hear that other moms have those kind of days!  It is SO true that we are the ones who set the tone in our homes.  That is something I have really been working on lately, to set a peaceful, joyful, LOVING atmosphere in my home. 

    You are such a good mom and I love reading about your everyday activities!

    Hope today is a great one for you~

  • Oh yeah, we can all relate of course!  LOL 

  • I’ve been struggling with this lately. I never yelled. Never. And I have lately. And I hate it. I’m exhausted and have no energy but that shouldn’t effect how I mother my two loves. And with the chores…oh my…it took FOREVER for my two to clean their rooms yesterday :/

  • Rachel recommended this post…. and can I EVER identify! Some days I am so weary of it all… but I forget that I am the one that needs to change! Thanks for the reminder!

  • Yep…been there…lots of times!  So glad that our Lord gives second chances and brand new days!  You taught way more with your lesson on forgiveness, than 100 books could teach on China!  Hope your day is wonderful!

  • i’ve had many day….s like this one lately!

    grateful that my heavenly Father displays way more patience in His parenting with me than i do in mine. :)
    and so grateful for my kids. for their resilience and quick forgiveness.
    we had a little ceaser’s 5 dollar pizza the other day too!! :)

    you are such a great mom. and i’ve been blessed through the years by your example.
    thanks for being honest and sharing one.of.them.kind.of.days we all know something about!!

    love you. 

  • Love this post.  :)   Real…and making up with little ceasars pizza…what a great idea!!!!

    So similar to yesterday with Pate….I haven’t decided if I’m blogging that one or not yet. 

  • Good thought – each day is a gift

  • Beautiful.  You have one of the hardest yet most important jobs in the world.  :)

  • Yeah, and for me, some days I never DO get out of that hole until they are in bed!

    So good for you for recognizing it for what it was and doing something about it!

    I like what the person above me commented “You have one of the hardest yet most important job in the world!”

  • conviction set in in my heart as i read this. so often i hear the words coming out of my mouth and think…no wonder i’m not having a good day. thank you for this reminder. i’m glad that you were able to send the kids to read…cause then you were able to work through things. i hope that the special pizza was a wonderful blessing as well. you are loved.

  • Oh dear friend, you’ve spoken right to my heart today. I have been there so many times and get it wrong so many times as well. Thank you for the reminders to treasure the moments and be aware of the tone I set in our home.

    I too am very thankful for how forgiving my children are!

  • “Then in the silence, in the angry silence I sat alone.  And there, I realized…….
    I am the one who sets the tone here.”

    It’s always a bit shocking to realize that if the anger is still there when you’re all alone, the anger is IN you, OF you.  I get ya though.  I beg God throughout the day to not let my own self creep in, little things can set me on that downward spiral if I don’t continually, continually, continually seek Him.

    Thanks for putting all this into words and reminding a fellow homeschool mom that she is not alone in the trenches.  Love you friend!

  • Love this post and I’ve been there too many times and don’t like admitting that it’s me.  I love your shirt too!

  • Me too!  Relate that is.  I think one of the greatest blessings in the Lord is that, when we mess up, confess, and turn…we get grace…from God AND our loved ones.  Floors me, but I am so grateful!

  • This sounds SO familiar! Thank God for forgiving kids. Amen!

  • Don’t we all have those days?!  It sounds like you did a good job of making up with the $5 day pizza, though~ ;)

    Oh, by the way, I was watching Buddie Valastro (cake boss, on TLC), today on a morning show. He was making lasagna, and was talking about how Italians always make gravy on Sunday afternoons~ I kept thinking of you, and your family!

    Hope today was a better day for you!

    ~Lydia

  • i’m with you on not ever wanting to sound like the teacher you never see on charlie brown but only ever hear going ‘waah waah wahh’
    good save with the pizza & you still look quite grown up & mature in your hello kitty shirt : )
    happy new day to you ~

  • I can so identify with this!  You put it all so well.

  • “It started out as a nice day.
    Then the kids woke up.”

    When I read this, I laughed a little, thinking “how true.” My next thought was wistful. ”I wish my days still started out like that.” My 5 month old gets up for the day between 5:30 and 6:30, and nothing will persuade her to go back to sleep. So for me, it’s “It was a lovely night, and then my kids drag me out of bed!”

    I came on recommendation of a friend, and I am glad I did. I can identify so well, and I need the reminder not to be so self-centered!

  • I can totally relate!!  It is so easy to forget the power we women have to set the tone on so many things.   Love the Little Caesar’s pizza idea…maybe I should try THAT…LOL

  • Thanks for putting this in words so well, your song goes well with it!!

  • Thanks for sharing-I’ve had many days like this & you did so well at putting it into words!  May you be blessed for trying to turn your day around & changing your attitude.  Something I need to work at daily, is my attitude. :(

  • Naturally I am supposed to confess that all things you exclaim agrees with my own way of thinking
    what is social responsibility | pickling salt | car emergency kit

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *