May 7, 2013

  • Remember banana seats?

    One night Jeff and I were telling the girls “stories from when we were little”.
    {It’s what they ask for all the time} My Strawberry Shortcake bike was topic that night. 

    We explained and googled…finally Saturday walking around a GorGEOUS neighborhood trying to accomplish 90 garage sales (that didn’t happen! ;) we saw a real live banana seat!
    Oh I wanted to buy the bike so badly..but $150! and it was a bit rusty! fuggedaboutit.
    Really? $150?

    We’ve been spending lots of days outside this past week. So glad spring has arrived.
    Flowers, sidewalk chalk, planting, green-house visiting, bike riding, ice cream cones…..
    Bring it on! Oh sunshine in my windows..I love it.

    Happy Tuesday to you.

Comments (15)

  • aw. looks like you guys are really enjoying these spring days! our kids love hearing stories about when we were kids too. it’s so fun!

  • I had a banana seat!! My kids ask, “What was it like in the olden days?”!!! 

    Ah yes, the olden days……they were so much fun!! Love the pics.

  • I had a strawberry shortcake bike too!! FUN.

    I’m glad you finally got SPRING. I was starting to feel real bad for you.

    I want to sit in front of a slightly open window like that to do my work. I’m seriously jealous about that window.

    I also want to sit on your stairs with a mug of coffee. I’m not saying your daughter is drinking coffee, but seeing that mug makes me want to sit there and have coffee. Like when I first wake up. Maybe when I come to your house, (did you know I was coming to your house? No?) anyway I can sit in that exact spot and have coffee.

    Rereading my comment here sort of makes me sound like some kind of coveter. Or stalker. A covetous stalker.  Oh well.

  • @aSeriesofFortunateEvents - let’s plan our visits to liz’s house at the same time!! ;)

  • i thought i was the only one who had a strawberry shortcake bike!! i remember being so disappointed because i wanted a bike like my brother’s. not some pink girly thing. ;) ) mine also had long tassels that hung off the handlebars, but i cut them off! i also had a horn. a very loud horn!!! haha. oh, the memories. now i’m feeling all nostalgic. funny how it sounds when the kids ask about my growing up years like they were way, way back.. and yet, they were always my favorite stories to hear from my own parents!! are we really our parents now!!! ;) ))

    yay for the warm weather and all it brings with it! i love how your kids enjoy the simple things~ so precious!

    have a happy tuesday. xox

  • I had a banana seat bike too!! :) That is SO funny to remember that, and even funnier to talk about “when I was a little girl” because I still feel like I am!! :) It’s story time every night around here with that – but normally it’s daddy that tells stories. It’s a lot of work to tell a story every night!

    I LOVE all your pictures! They show such happiness and joy and LIFE! I just LOVE springtime!!

    Happy Tuesday, beautiful Liz! xoxo

  • That’s no garage sale price!  What were they thinking?  YES, I remember those seats. 

    I love the pic with your daughter and the mug.  So pretty.

    Sarah has been watching an older Strawberry shortcake cartoon on Netflix.  SO corny, so girly, so cute! 

    Happy Tuesday!

  • i learned to ride bike on a banana bike :)  Hhhmmm…maybe those will come around in style again!

    I’ve been eyeing a screen door like yours for awhile now – makes me think of southern plantation homes :) hope to get one this summer – don’t know it it will look right with our style of home, but we’ll see. Your flowers are lovely – we don’t have as many colorful flowers here in FL – too hot  for them I guess.  And, those chocolates look too heavenly to eat ;) Happy Spring

  • I always wanted a banana seat bike!  We lived up some big hills and the ten speed bikes were more practical, but we thought the stingrays were way cooler!  Now I look back and know that I too would have insisted on the big 10 speed bikes , which we needed!
    Love all the springtime happening there! 

  • Loved my banana seat bike!  I am also loving that delicious fruit bowl.  Mmm… 

  • There’s nothing quite like family time being spent outdoors. =D 

    And it’s true what they say about them pictures. Beautifully-captured moments, indeed =)

  • http://answers.walmart.com/answers/1336/product/19582532/questions.htm

    No rust!!! Affordable!!I wish we could get one (for me!).

  • My banana seat bike was green just like the one you have pictured! Tho’s were the days!!!!Love all your pictures! 

  • Yep, had a banana seat.    Brings back good memories.  Wish I had a pix of mine.  Most of our old school pixes we lost in a house fire.  bummer! 
    Loving spring here as well.  I had daffodils by my coffee pot for quite awhile.  They made me smile.  And this week a few lilacs bloomed. 
    Loving it!

  • Nice blog with awesome stuff!! Can you provide more information?? We are in fact waiting for you…http://www.nordiktackle.net

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *