December 17, 2012

  • It felt much too shallow.

    To write about something like fashion with the horrific tragedy that happened Friday. I just couldn’t.

    Our weekend was bursting at the seams.
    A piano recital, dessert baking and a missions benefit concert we put on for my sister Caitlin.
    She leaves the day after Christmas. She’ll be in Australia for a while working with A Passion for Jesus.

    I didn’t feel so good this morning. still don’t. 
    I made Jeff’s lunch, waved goodbye as he left for work and dozed off on the couch.
    When I woke up it was 11:00 am!
    The girls were watching a movie on the couch next to me and the boys were finishing up their school.

    How did I sleep through the whole morning routine?
    Was our house really that quiet? or was I just really that tired? ;)
    Glad to know my kids can run the house fine without me. They even got dinner together tonight.

    {this ornament used to hang on my great, great grandmother’s Christmas tree}

    Going to make a cup of hot tea and watch a Christmas movie now.
    I’m sure I’ll be asleep five minutes into it.
    Enjoy your evening.

Comments (9)

  • I took a three hour nap today after our weekend too! 

    Happy Holiday-ing! :)  

  • Sleeping is good after a busy weekend.

  • I’ve been extra sleepy this holiday season as well. I wonder what is sapping our energy?

  • A busy weekend for sure! And a sister leaving soon? You must be savoring all the last moments together before she leaves, but be so proud of her and who she is at the same time.
    I hope you feel better soon! It’s no fun being sick anytime, but especially not around Christmas!
    xoxo

  • So thankful you could rest and sleep and the kids carry on.  Isn’t that a blessing!!
    I just hung some ornaments just like that one on our tree tonight.  I bought them some time ago at a rummage sale because they reminded me of my childhood. 

  • that ornament and the connection it represents is just so very precious. love that for you and your kids. ornaments are a big deal around here. we give the kids a new one every year, something to remind then of a significant event or experience. and unpacking them each time the season rolls around is fun, we love rehearsing the stories again.

    i’m excited for your sister and the opportunity to live and serve abroad. but i know you all will miss her terribly. will any family be traveling to see her while she’s there? btw, i’m working with a passion for Jesus here in pa. ;)

    hope that you are feeling better real soon!

  • This time of year plus being a mom with young children can all add up to a LOT of tiredness! I love that ornament. It is nice to have things on the tree with some history to them. When we moved to Denmark, I left all those kinds of things back in the US, and I kind of miss them now. They were some small traditions that gave me a sense of having roots. Hope you are all rested up now and ready to take on Christmas!

  • feel bETTER!!!
    and yes, everything feels much too shallow now.
    so so sad.

  • beautiful old ornament! 
    Hope you’re feeling better!  I know whenever I’m sick a little sleep does wonders to help me feel better.

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *