December 19, 2012

  • Not now. It’s Martha Stewart week.

    The week of baking. finishing touches on packages. paper candy canes. baking. baking.
    Christmas pictures. taking the kids to the city. more baking.

    However, my body had other plans. Feeling crumby. On the couch I’ve been for three days now.
    On the couch, but getting my fill of Christmas movies. :)

    Samantha (the American Girl movie)…made me want to be rich and live in the city,
    because Christmas is so much better in the city.
    Then we watched It’s a Wonderful Life…made me want to be poor and content in my small town,
    because Christmas is so much better in small towns.

    Funny how movies do that, isn’t it?

    My friend Amber just posted about how she’s not sending out Christmas cards.
    it made me feel so much better. I just don’t see it happening this year for us either.
    It’s sad..I always do cards!  I feel like I’m leaving out an important tradition by not mailing them.
    But, life goes on and next year..next year I’ll be more prepared.

    I did finish Christmas shopping before Thanksgiving this year though.
    I was organized with that. I started back in summer and was so glad I did.

    My kids have been taking care of things around the house.
    I woke this afternoon to a very to a clean house and a candle burning in my kitchen. It looked so cozy.
    They made dinner too…the pizza delivery girl just dropped it off a couple minutes ago. ;)

    I am thankful this sick will be over by Christmas.
    and I am super excited for the snow storm we are going to have tomorrow. 
    My kids have their snow pants and boots all ready to go.

    Happy Martha Stewart week to you.
    Hope you’re getting all your last minute Christmas ends tied up.

Comments (15)

  • Hoping you feel better!  I’ve been under the weather too.  Stinks.  Majorly.

  • get better. stay on that couch till you’re good and healed so it doesn’t come back!
    and yes. i feel better knowing even my super organized friend’s like you didn’t get to cards either~
    let’s start a new tradition and send them at valentines day. ;) )

    happy mother stewart week to you too!

    and shayne was behind me and saw the pic and said, “that’s chicago!”
    SO pretty!!

  • um. that would be MARTHA stewart. though i’m sure she has a mother too. ;) )

  • @Hutch5 - I didn’t even notice your Mother Stewart until your second comment! Ha. I’m so observant. Tell Shayne you guys should swing on by Chicago this season. ;)

  • Beautiful city pictures.  They remind me of the song “Silver Bells.”

  • Just trying to keep caring for David, wrap presents, and finish putting up some Christmas decor.  I have hit the major tired body and aches so trying to pace myself here. My babies fly in tonight so I kno wthat will be exciting. 

  • I’ve got the crud too, but no one is letting me lay on the couch, and I’m kinda mad about that. ha.

    Love the pics of your city, someday I’m coming there!

  • I’m sick, too! I thought I was getting better, until I woke up this morning. Jeromy wants me to close the daycare tomorrow and just sleep. The kids have half a day of school – so I could have the house to myself until noon. It’s tempting, but then I worry about letting the daycare families down. Maybe I’ll feel better by this afternoon? I hope so! Hope you’re better too. Love the pictures of the city. How far are you from the city? The thing I’m letting go this season is gingerbread houses. We just don’t have the time! I’m sad, but I’m just thankful Thomas is here for all of his Christmas Break. I’m just focusing on that! Feel better :)

  •  Oh noooo! So sorry you’re sick! Today my two girls woke up sick too, so we’re reading lots of books and watching Little House movies and just enjoying the SLOW part. They should be better by Christmas, but there may be a few less “Martha Stewart-ish” things that don’t get done now! That’s okay. :)

    xoxo

  • @aSeriesofFortunateEvents - what?! you are sick too?! oh no. @fourkidsonemom - AND you? oh my. what is with my friends? @Elizabethmarie_1 - sorry that it’s been that kind of week! hope that you are feeling better soon. hugs to all three of you long distance.

  • @aSeriesofFortunateEvents - Beth! You can come lay on my couch. =) Hope you feel better soon.

  • @fourkidsonemom - You should close the daycare. During this busy season, the parents might be happy they have an excuse to be home! Haha. Hope you feel better soon. Being sick is no fun right now. I live about an hour outside of Chicago. If you’re ever in the area…let me know. ;)

  • you’ve taught your kids well, including the pizza delivery-the best part :P
    Hope you get better soon!!

  • Sorry your feeling bad…but cuddled on the couch is the best medicine and watching the old Christmas Movies I did that the other day it sure helped what was ailing me.

    ~Merry Christmas~

  • SO much sickness going around right now!  So far we’ve been able to stay healthy….

    I say take advantage of the family taking care of you…..milk it, girl….for all it’s worth! :)   and feel better soon!!

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *