December 31, 2012

  • For the love of homemade cough syrup.

    Back in November, we were swapping homemade remedies.
    Friends gathered around my dining room table discussing cough syrup. strep throat concoctions.

    I lean more toward natural when it comes to medicine and doctors and vaccinating (or lack of).
    After our evening, I was very inspired for our family to get sick! 

    I couldn’t wait for someone to come down with something so I could try all my new tricks.
    It has (well..had) been a couple of years since we’ve been really sick with fevers and coughs.
    I was sort of missing making hot tea and putting cold rags on little fevered heads. 

    Well….the germs were listening that night!
    Oh they heard my wishes of wanting to try silly homemade cough syrup. What was I thinking?

    Almost the entire month of December has been filled with sick.
    and today…on the last day of the year…I’m Done! Finito! Fini! Afgewerkt!

    I don’t care about a fever or cold or cough or (minor, minor) sore throat. anymore. 
    I will drug myself (legally ;) and ring in the New Year with a clean kitchen floor!

    Sounds exciting, right? It’s the simple things. ;)

    I went for a short walk in the snow alone…the cold air felt good to breath.
    I plan on making some fun little foods for those of us who have somewhat of an appetite,
    and I’m staying up late tonight! eating Martha Stewart’s apple cake with homemade caramel topping.
    {I’ll share the recipe soon, I just don’t feel like getting up to get it right now. laziness.}

    My dad works in the food industry…
    he said fruit and vegetable sales skyrocket the first three weeks of January.then they drop off. 
    Obviously eating healthier is a big resolution for people….in January at least ;)

    It’s exciting and fresh, a new year.
    I am wanting to….

    Surrender more to God….give Him the lead and not let fear or fear of others hold me back.
    Love God with my whole heart. Truly, truly love Him.
    I want people to see the Holy Spirit living in me.

    I also want to a better mailer. I am horrible at mailing things. 
    {side note…I live about 40 seconds away from the post office.  Yeah, I’m very bad.}

    I want to play the piano more. I have really been slacking with music and I love it so.


     

    So how about you? any big new years plans? any fabulous resolutions for the new year?
    Happy evening as you walk through the door of 2013!

Comments (12)

  • No big plans. Just ready to be a better person this year. And we are doing the jar thing. Putting notes in the jar when good stuff happens and reading them next New Year’s Eve.

  • Happy New Year to you and your family.

  • new years eve plans are…attending a wine and cheese party.
    and tomorrow we’re planning on having friends over—busy busy! but so fun.

    so sorry for all of the sickness! yay for feeling better. finally.
    my word. so many bugs around here have been really mean this season.
    sounds like it’s been that way out there too.

    i read “homemade caramel topping…”
    and am wondering how long it would take me to get there! :)

    great resolutions liz. been thinking along some of those same lines…
    acts 4:13,  recognizing HIS voice, and standing next to His plumbline of truth.

    love ya!

  • I have lots of goals in mind, but the biggest for me is to complain less! :) hope you’re all on the mend. Happy New Year, Liz :)

  • Right now, I need to get a handle on the bug I have. Alkaseltzer helped me for 2 nights. I wanted to “go it alone” today and am now suffering for my decision. I wanted to go out for an adventure today, but a quick trip to Home Depot for window plastic (to keep the cold out) was more than enough. Therefore, the New Year”s Eve plans are non-existent, though we told our daughter to invite friends over. Instead, she left and went to the one girl’s family’s house, where the filth and germs run rampant. I am worried. ) 8  I think I’ll be happy if hubby will tolerate me curling up into a fetal position in the comfy leather couch with a blanket and mug of detox tea. In our little downtown, there will be a boot drop outside of one of the bars on Whiskey Row. And then fireworks…hopefully only the planned kind! ( 8

  • My goals for the year are very simple.  I hope to share on my blog (maybe)…..but they are very similar to your thoughts! 

    We went through SO much medicine during the flu….we don’t do much medication during sickness but this one was particularly nasty and we were driven to it!

    Emergen-C helps, too.  I’m still drinking a package of it  a day.

    Interesting about the fruits and veggies….and I had to chuckle about the Post office. LOL

  • Oh noooooooo! It seems like that sickness is going around everywhere!! I’m the only one in our family who hasn’t gotten sick, but the three kiddos were quite ill right before Christmas and Hudson after. Let’s just say, not really a Christmas I want to remember!! :) I hope you all feel better SOON!

    You made me laugh about the post office… But I will say that God directed the timing of your baby package, because it arrived on the PERFECT day. :) I still remember, it was a really bad day and it nearly made me cry, it was that special.

    xoxo

  • You are funny! I hope you are all better now! I liked your New Years resolutions!

  • Happy New Year! Hope you are all feeling better!  Love that last quote you posted…grrr need to stop finding those excuses when it comes to exercising  

  • You hopes you all would get sick??:):):) don’t you know better?;):):)
    Happy new year to you and your beautiful family!!!!!

  • I have total compassion for your family after feeling like most of Dec. we spent doing the same thing.  I hope that you are all up to feeling better by now!!

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *