January 3, 2013

  • Have you colored them a picture?

    Almost everyday we (Jeff and I) are gifted colored pictures from our girls.
    As most children….they are artwork machines! They go at it for hours with paints and markers.

    Quite honestly, we started to take them for granted (the pictures, not the girls ;) because….
    1. We are always getting new ones, we’re spoiled with pictures so to speak.
    2. We have SO many! 

    The sad thing is…it stops. We don’t get pictures from our boys anymore.
    We used to get pictures of swords and camping and cowboys…now we get flowers and butterflies.

    It’s their way of showing love. and thoughtfulness. they’ve put effort into what they’ve created.

    Today Allison delivered to each of us a picture.  
    Jeff and I are still sick. (Yes, Still!!! but I think this is the end..really this time)
    Our boys are running the house for the most part, as we sleep and…..

    …..color. Today with a box of 64 choices between us,
    next to each other in bed we colored like we were 8 years old. 

    It was fun. and seeing the girls light up when we handed over our Crayola masterpieces…priceless.

    They asked if we colored printed pictures or if we really, really drew them ourselves.
    Yeah, we’re masters with crayons Jeff and I. You should have seen his incredible princess castle! ;)

    If you’re a mom or dad..aunt or uncle…big brother or sister,
    I’m sure you’ve gotten a picture at some point from a child.

    Have you ever colored one back?
    If not, you should try it.
    They love it! and you may have more fun than you think coloring. Ha!

    *Leaving little notes is fun too…stick them in journals, books, drawers…etc.
    Have Fun!!!

Comments (18)

  • That is  a gift!  Good drawing mom and dad.  We like homemade cards around here.  My husband is very clever with them.  

  • Aw… so sweet!  Sorry you aren’t well.  Hope you are on the mend.  I caught a “bug” I couldn’t shake.  Very un-fun.

  • I do this! I stick them in lunch boxes, mail them to Thomas and tape them to their bathroom mirror. Love goes both ways :)

  • ohmyword. you two are so cool! how fun. i like to color. it’s the part about my immaturity that i really love. lol. 

    big bummers that you are still sick. so very sorry. it’s been long enough now. all right already.
    wishes for rest…and prayers for recovery and health.

    your bedroom looks pretty. i like seeing the inside of my friend’s houses. :)
    and is that the top of a rubbermaid container i see there in the corner? sure.
    i thought so.

  • This is so, so sweet, Liz!  I love the peek I have of your pictures.  I haven’t thought much about how these pictures we get so many of will stop someday because I’m still in the thick of it.  I love this post.  And DO get better soon, ok?

  • I still love to color, and I’m almost 75.  I need some new crayons.  Maybe I should ask for some for my birthday.

  •  a new box of crayons is the best and what a GREAT mother you are! i’m so sorry you guys are still sick! hoping that this is indeed the last round!
    hugs to you my sweet friend!

  • Love this   I used to always color.  My room mates in college always thought I was funny b/c they would come in and I’d be coloring instead of doing my homework.  I am in the same department with the artwork.  New pictures always…and I almost cried when I read your word, they will stop.    I started taking pictures of them to put in my digital scrapbook pages to save space. 

    Ryan brought home his artwork from school and in it there was black snow and a black snowman.  I asked him why the snow was black and he said seriously – “Because I couldn’t find my brown.”  The wonderful world of creativity.  I think today while they nap I will color them a picture.    Thanks for the inspiration.  P.S. Can you post a picture of the princess castle?  I am oh so curious.

  • Wow, that is SO sweet. And seriously, to be sick and in bed and think of coloring a picture for your kids??! Wow. I love that. It’s especially a wow factor to me today because my kids are all better now and I’M sick. :(   But when I’m NOT sick, I think coloring is still so fun too!

    I hope you get well SOON! A whole month of sickness for you guys? That is WAY too much!

    xoxo

  • What a great idea!  I always get a little jealous of Adam’s art classes … so maybe I’ll just have to copy his instructions and hand him some pictures. ;)  I hope you guys feel better soon.  Your immune system has not been kind to you this winter at all.

  • @down_onthefarm - Why yes, we always have a rubbermaid bin handy..as all married couples should. ;)  

  • @lifeisadance - Clarita I hope you feel better! being sick is no fun, but with tiny little ones it’s really hard. It has been easier having older kids, we can lay around and they help out so much. Wish I lived closer…I’d send soup and an older child to help so you could rest! =)

  • @ata_grandma - I think when I am 75 I will still like to color also. =) I love using pastels too…it makes my pictures feel fancier, like I’m a real artist!

  • @zanyzeal - I was going to add it to my stack and Jeff said…”Don’t put my picture up”. But now that there is a request, maybe he’ll let me. ;) He is actually really good at drawing, it’s the architect part of him.

  • you inspire me!! love it!

  • Coloring has always been therapeutic for me ;)  even won a couple coloring contests as a kid.  Yes, my kids light up when I write a note or draw n color a pic for them, I’m not much of an artist, but I can create with crayons :)  Some xanga bloggers are soo gifted in photography, decorating, style, etc. etc.    Coloring is just another facet of art – anymore, a sloppy, messy watercolor painting is considered art – You should try to make greeting cards with your or your kids crayon art!

  • i like your bedroom too & your snowman.
    snowmen have been the girls favorite coloring choice lately …. they usually stand by funky christmas trees.
    we still get swords & ninja art too … thanks for the reminder to be thankful for them : )

  • I missed this one. I love it. 

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *