April 23, 2013

  • It seems to be the trend.

    Today was (yet again!) chilly and rainy.
    The day was spent in sweatshirts and lazy clothes. We finished school pretty early.
    We baked Praline Apple Bread from a recipe my Grandma sent in the mail. We loved it.

    After seeing a picture on instagram, I was inspired to surprise my girls.
    Old albums seem to be all the rage right now.

    Sam and I went up into the attic and dug out my old Fisher-Price record player
    and a stack of records. Records that I listened to when I was a little girl.

    {The record player was a Christmas gift from my Grandma. I was five years old.}

    Favorites?  My Strawberry Shortcake records from 1981. (one even has a picture on it)
    I remember going shopping with my Mom, she let me pick out any record I wanted.
    I chose Strawberry Shortcake’s Exercise and Fun Album.
    Maybe I should try working out to that tomorrow. Ha! 

    I told the kids to be SO careful because the records are worth SO much!
    Then I checked on ebay. $2.99-$8.10.   So much for that retirement plan.
    Record investments are not the way to go folks.

    It’s still raining. We have a fire in the wood stove. 
    Happy evening to you.

Comments (6)

  • Did they like listening to the record player?? How cute! 

  • Aw… I use to love listening to my records as a little girl!  Enjoy your rainy day weather.  Makes for May flowers!

  • I miss my records!  I had quite the collection back in the day.  I had the huge record player my Aunt gave to me when she didn’t want it anymore.  It was the kind with built in speakers that took the whole length of the wall.  I loved it.  I lost them all when my parent’s house burnt down. 

  • Ohmygoodness, I used to LOVE records too!! There is just something cool about the sound and the big round records. :) So fun you still have one you can pull out, AND that you have your favorites from when you were little! That’ll cheer up any cold rainy day! :)

    xoxo

  • lol…so cute! Love sweatshirts and lazy  clothes days. Hope things warm up your way very soon.  

  • Oh my goodness, this is so sweet!  What a great thing to do with your children….vintage Strawberry shortcake is the BEST, yes?

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *