January 25, 2011

  • What is your Big Picture? What do you want out of Life?
    As christians….our big picture,our Focus should be Glorifying God.
    We should Want to Glorify God.

    There are 40 main characters in the bible.
    75% of them did not have religious positions.

    We are all in “The Ministry”.
    Just because you do not work for a church, or a christian organization does not mean that you are not in ministry.
    We must bear fruit in the desert.  We must have Integrity and Courage.
    We must Surrender to God. Never substitute the lesser glories for God’s Glory.
    We must have Focus. What we do is Not as important as who we are doing it for!

    1 Corinthians 10:31
    Whether, than, you eat or drink whatever you do,

    do ALL to the glory of God.

    ~Some notes I took this past weekend in church. It was Jeff’s turn to preach, and he spoke on glorifying God.

    Grant me the wisdom to know what’s right, and the courage to do it.
    Glorify yourself Lord, at my expense.

     

    Nye_Family2010-9

     

    Haircuts are going on right now. Two boys down, one to go.
    Jeff is the Barber. I am not.
    I have given a couple of bad haircuts in the past and am not trusted with scissors or clippers anymore! ;)

    The girls are in bed. They are listening to The Four Seasons ~ Antonio Vivaldi. He’s my Favorite.
    January was declared Vivaldi Month in this house. 
    His compositions are so Cheerful and Bright. His songs sing Happy!
    I have put this particular piece on for them each night at bedtime since January 1st.
    They now know every movement in the song and can hum the melody when I name the season!
    Makes my classical loving heart proud. =)

    If you are looking for the absolute BEST version of The Four Seasons, (and I have heard quite a few!)
    You will find it on Janine Jansen’s album simply titled ~  Vivaldi- The Four Seasons.
    She is a FANTASTIC violinist from the Netherlands.

    She plays this piece so…..violently. That is the only word to describe her playing.
    She attacks the music with such passion!
    Also, there is Not a full orchestra playing with her. It’s very simple, very crisp, very to the point!
    You just HAVE to hear it! =)

    I leave you this evening with my favorite part ~ Summer.
    I couldn’t find Janine Jansen on playlist, so you must settle for a different version.

    Hope you have a most wonderful evening!

Comments (15)

  • I always love your play list and when I heard Vivaldi tonight as I came to your site, it made me happy too :)   Love the family picture!

  • I enjoy The Four Seasons too! My brother has a master’s degree in music, and through the years he has turned me into a classical music lover.

  • What a beautiful family you have!  We like classical here too.  I love this:  “Glorify yourself, Lord, at my expense.”  I need to write that one down and post it somewhere where I see it often.  And don’t you love husbands that do the haircuts?  I am SO glad Dan does them at our house. :)

  • Beautiful!  Words, music, your heart.  How sweet to have notes of your husband speaking, and have them speak to your heart.  Thank you for sharing them.  I have been focusing in on that, glorifying God, in my reading and thoughts, and thinking how to be constantly before Him.
    I put my children to bed with classical music and instrumental praise. It blessed me no end to see them listen to it on their own as they grew older and needed to rest and sleep.
    My hubby was the haircutting  guy around here too.  I could only handle buzz cuts, all these boys have too much straight, thick hair.  I was available for advice though 
    You all look so adorable in that picture.  You do well pulling off pics…I like your happy fam!

  • What a great family picture!  It’s been a while since I’ve listened to the Four Seasons — thanks for sharing it.

  • your husband is a preacher? why did i not get that before? i like the notes you took from the sermon on glorifying God….it goes along with my goal for this year, of living life more intentionally and with greater focus…Good thoughts.

    and, WHAT A GREAT FAMILY picture!! you all look so sharp! and, your kids! they are just growing so fast, and getting more beautiful everyday! you guys really have a lovely family!

    your playlist shall resound thru the house this morning while we get ready for school amidst a snowstorm!

  • Beautiful family picture. ;) I love The Four Seasons. I played a portion of “Winter” once (on piano)  for a winter recital :)

  • I just love your family picture on and around the piano!!! That’s way too cute with the girls on top. : ) Sounds like your hubby’s a good preacher. : ) Mine’s the best, but that’s just my unbiased opinion. hee hee

    LOVE Vivaldi too! Definitely my fave violin guy. lol What a nice way to have a piece of summer in the middle of winter.

  • An amazing pic!  LOVE IT!  P.S. Re:  “We are all in the ministry.”  I must say, truer words have never been written. 

  • I LOOOOOOVE your family picture!!! Being a pianist myself, anything with music in it thrills my soul. :) The composition of the picture is just beautiful as well!

    And I did not know that your husband is a preacher! I was thinking, wow, that sounds like John Piper or something… :) Very good words, so challenging! So often I feel like I want to do something BIG for God - and it’s hard sometimes to be content to live a “little” life, where it doesn’t feel like I’m doing that much for Him. This really spoke to my heart…

    And Vivaldi – yes, my favorite composer as well! But that your girls know each movement?!?!!! Now THAT is soooo impressive! Good job, music-loving woman! :)

  • sounds like a good sermon! love the picture of you all! i can’t believe tyler is almost as tall as jeff~ wow!

    have a great day, girlfriend.

  • @JsSteph7 - @foreveranoatneygirl - @lifeisadance -  We attend a family integrated church. A couple of the men in the church take turns preaching each week. Some weeks my Dad gives the message, there is one other man who also preaches.

  • Our pastor has been talking about the Glory of God, so this is a great reminder; to glorify God in all we do and say. I’m usually concious of it, but fail to carry through when my anger gets in the way!   Your family is so GLOrified looking! I love that photo! So. my focus for the rest of today is to not “lose it” with my girl and to be energetic and positive this evening.

  • i was going to say something about your thoughts and questions that i liked…
    but all of it left my brain when i saw your family photo. i LOVE that picture! you are so very pretty as always and there is just something so storybookish about it! beautiful!

  • I do not like classical music, but maybe if I would hang around you enough I would learn to?

    As others said, GORGEOUS family picture!  Love how you’re sitting in the middle there, queen of the family, like “Oh, yeah, baby.  I birthed every one of you little twerps. So you bettah listen to me!”

    Great thoughts from Jeff’s sermon too!

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *