January 26, 2011

  • Writing Your Love Story ~

    Somedays I feel like I’m floating on cloud 9. 
    Somedays I look at Jeff and wonder why someone so wonderful wants to be married to me!
    Then there are OTHER days when I wonder how Jeff could be married to someone so Wonderful!!!  
     
    We laugh. We have Fun.  We joke. We kiss.We fight. We argue. We Love. We disagree. We act prideful. 
    We make up. We dance. We care. We don’t care.  We act selfish. We share. We get mad. We give in…..
    But NEVER Give Up! 
    We do all these things. We do this Together.

    Marriage is hard sometimes.
    Marriage isn’t always like a Romantic Movie.
    Marriage takes lots of work.
    It doesn’t become wonderful on it’s own!  You have to do work to make it Wonderful.
    Marriage is an ongoing project you must work on together!
    Sometime the project runs smoothly, sometimes it just doesn’t!

    Marriage is a commitment.  Without being completely commited, it’s easy to give up.
    There must be NO other option than Each Other! You are in it Together….

    Marriage is self sacrificing.  Give 100% of yourself.  50/50 will Never work! =)
    Say the right thing first. Face it, when a fight is happening, it usually boils down to selfishness.
    Swallow your pride. Muster up all you’ve got and apologize first when you Really don’t want to.
    (I give this advice because I do this all the time ~ )

    Give yourself, your whole self. Make your marriage #1.
    I would have to say my Favorite part of our marriage is the Trust I have in Jeff.
    I know that I am his #1. I know there is no one more important to him than me.
    No matter what happens, I matter.
    We are a team!  Working together.

    You’re going to go through bad times, times where you can’t stand each other!
    You’re going to go through good times, where you can’t get enough of each other! 
    Through all this, you are writing your Love Story.
    The story you will look back on together. The story your kids will remember.
    Make it a Good one! =)


    DSC01461
    (I think I used this picture before.. I loved this night. It’s from one of my Favorite dates we ever went on!)


    Have a Great Evening.

    *Every so often, Jeff will give me a love song to listen to that reminds him of me….
    This song was one of them…

Comments (24)

  • Love it! So very true!  :)

  • amen!! thanks for sharing this~ needed it. :)

    recently i was thinking of going back to my friday love story posts- where others share their love story w/ the rest of us.. how they met, knew this was the one! i think you should be the first to share. :) i’d love to hear more details of how your story started. think about it and let me know.

    beautiful song. night, girl. :)

  • You have no idea how much I needed to read that. Thank you thank you thank you!

  • i love this post, Liz!! it’s so loaded with  truth….
    marriage is really the best, but not without work, and tears, and forgiveness, and selflessness….which is probably my biggest problem:self. 
    thanks for this….
    happy thursday!!

  • @grace2be - Do it!! i loved those love story fridays…DO IT!!! =)

  • What a cool picture!  Did a stranger take it for you?

    Marriage really does take a LOT of hard work!

  • “we are a team. working together.”  always remember this especially when you have a house full of teenagers!  Little people who are quickly growing up and stretching their wings can really put some stress on a marriage.  Trust me, you will need to be a team in order to live with all of those crazy hormones   Sounds like you have wisdom beyond your years….you will do great and enjoy those teenage years! (it really is a fun and special time)

  • like Rachel said, this post was loaded with truth.
    Loved it. makes me want to fight harder.
    as in, fighting harder TOGETHER. not against him.

    had to grin at what you said about the days when you wonder how he could be married to somone so wonderful..=D
    and i love that picture too.
    We win the prize every year for dud pictures. just not in our gene pool….

  • Agreed   That last picture is so FUN   I am thinking I might remember a little bit about how you all met if memory serves me correctly, but will be excited to see you featured on grace2be page   Think that is a great idea, especially with Valentine’s Day right around the corner.  I am such a hopeless romantic in many ways.   Craig and I will be celebrating our 10 year anniv. this year and so we got to talking and I said for our monthly date nights we should replay some of our fav things/fav dates of the last ten years.  Every year on our anniversary I always make a list of things we want to do as a couple in the next year.  

  • So good and true! It’s a lot of work but it pays off! I have seen that picture of you too before and I just love it.

  • This was also what I needed this morning! 

  • So beautiful and SO very true!

    Loved it!  And these are the same things I have found to be true in our marriage.  That it takes hard work. That sometimes you are crazy about each other and sometimes you’re mad…all of it! 

    But committment and teamwork…that’s what will get you through!

  • Like the others have said–this is a great post!

  • Great encouraging post!  I think that is a great picture of you two.  I am so blessed to be married.  You are right it takes work, dying to self, commitment…and all that.  It is so wonderful to have a partner that you know you are #1 with.  At times when I have felt less than loving I have found that choosing God’s ways and asking Him for His will brings me though.  He is on our side too! 

  • Love it  the post and the pic.  You guys are such a cute couple and this line

    “I give this advice because I do this all the time ~ )” made me hee hee! 

  • Oooh, I LOVED this!! So full of truth, but not only that; so full of a vibrant, living,  as it should be marriage… You are soo inspiring!! This was so good for me to be reminded of again…

    And I just love that picture of you two! It has so much emotion in it. One that speaks loudly to me is “FUN!” That’s something that many couples, married more than a year or two, do not have! They often don’t even seem to enjoy being around each other. So I really really really like this picture because of that element!!

    @grace2be - those posts sounds lovely! that must have been before I started following you… wow, that sounds like a lot of fun to read all those love stories!!! :)

  • @lifeisadance - @foreveranoatneygirl - all right, girls! that means YOU have to share too!! ;) get those fingers typing and the old dating/wedding pictures out!!! :)

  • @grace2be - I used to LOVE reading your love stories…..yes, yes, yes, you should do that again. =) I looked forward to them.

  • @aretheyallyours - There was a couple, and the man was taking pictures of his wife. So I went up to him and told him to get in the picture. They were happy to have one together.   Then he said he’d take on for us!  So yes, he was a stranger!

  • You have descried marriage perfectly. 

  • Is it okay for me to say I’m glad to hear you guys fight?
    or is that mean?
    cause I really didn’t think you would.
    we do….
    fight big….love big….
    we’re passionate people here at our house.

  • @totallycherished - I was laughing when I read your comment!  (Jeff laughed too!)  YEs, we are just the perfect couple. We NEVER get into arguments! lol

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *