March 25, 2013

  • Skating on Ice.

    Saturday afternoon my whole big family rented out the ice rink. 
    There were thirty two and a half of us. (another new nephew on his way :)

    We celebrated five birthdays. My mom. A sister of mine. A nephew. A brother in law. My daughter.
    Having a big family is such blessing. I can’t tell you how much I love getting together with my family.

    Our baby is seven now. I fell asleep with a newborn in my arms, woke up and she turned seven.

    She’s been wanting a ukulele. (of course! her mother will buy anything that has to do with music ;)  
    She chose a local diner for her birthday dinner. She asked Auntie Caitlin to bake her cupcakes.
    She’s been dying to go ice skating.


    Yikes! Life goes fast. Enjoy every moment.
    Happy new week.

Comments (18)

  • That looks like tons of fun! I hope she had a great birthday!!

  • Aw… so sweet!  Happy Bday to your littlest!

  • awwww ~ love that last pic ~

  • I am always so blessed by the things you share about your family. I know what you mean about falling asleep with a newborn and waking up with a seven year old. I blinked and my oldest is about to graduate high school! Yikes! lol I’m still holding out hope that this last baby (who’s due any day now) could still be a girl, in spite of what the ultrasounds would have us to believe.

  • What a beautiful post. Love that picture with the candles- very artistic. 

  • How fun!  Happy Birthday to your littlest. 

  • Sounds nice having a big family that gets along good.  That’s very rare haha.  Happy birthday to your daughter :)

  • aww!! what a great weekend this looks to have been!
    happy birthday to Sophia! Ava will definitely want to see these pictures.
    and, fyi? the other day when we were talking about our upcoming trip to KS, Ava piped up; ‘can we go to Chicago on our way there!?’ obviously, our whole family would like that! =)
    ice skating…it looks like fun, but i kid you not. my rear end is sore just thinking about it. this ol’ girl…no can do.
    happy tuesday, Liz!!

  • what a FUN weekend!
    the ice skating pictures are DREAMY!! this southern girl would love a chance at that!
    except, i wouldn’t be in some graceful skater pose. i’d probably be pants-on-the-ice kind of posing. :)
    you and your family are all SO BEAUTIFUL!
    i so love all your pictures!
    much much love!

  • aw, how fun to get to have family time at the rink with just yourselves!  I absolutely love ice skating but never go because the rinks are far away.  I dream of having one close by some day :)
    Happy birthday to Sophia!  Sounds like she had a splendid one!

  • How fun!!  I can’t imagine having a skating rink all to my family and myself!  It sure would save me some embarrassment tho!!  LOL  Y’all look like pros.  Which state do you live in?  I spent 2 years in Sweden where we skated a lot but that was 1,000 years ago!  Love the cup cakes.  I can see you and your very talented family had a wonderful big birthday party. Happy, happy!

  • I love that your family has so much fun together!  The skating looooks like so much fun, but knowing me, I’d be doing one of those funny fast “walks” across the ice or then risking it all and ending up on my derriere.  ;)  That last picture of you two is just stellar!  Oh and birthdays …. crazy those nights you wake up to discover seven years have gone by. I hope you at least feel rested as a consolation prize. :)

  •          The first and last pictures are so precious!  This looks like so much fun.  Happy birthday to everyone!

  • @foreveranoatneygirl_n2Hisown -  Yes! Yes! YES! she can go to Chicago on her way there! I know a place she can stay too. ;)

  • @VallejoGirl - I would love to see Sweden one day, how wonderful you had the opportunity to live there. We live in northern Illinois. It’s still chilly and snowy around here..although today it’s in the 40′s and sunny. =)

  • @redladybug18 - Just to let you know I STILL have your shirt!!! Hopefully you can wear it before FALL comes around again!

  • The time really does fly, doesn’t it?  We’ll have been married 17 years this year and our youngest turns 8 this summer. Looks like you all had a good time ice skating.  My wife and I have a soft spot for musical instrument requests, as well.  If they show real interest, they more than likely will get the instrument. Our house can be pretty raucous with three or four instruments practicing just as many songs when they all get a notion to practice or just play at the same time.  Ice skating is a blast. My kids always jump at the suggestion.  Glad you all had a good day with your family.

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *