April 8, 2013

  • It rained that day.

    We didn’t care. We were getting married!
    That was sixteen years ago last Friday. 

    In the great, big living room in my parents old house,
    wearing my Grandmother’s wedding dress from the 1950′s, Jeff in a rented tux….we said our vows.

    {OH! I love him SO much!!}

    Our parents took our kids this weekend. Jeff’s parents the boys, my parents the girls.

    We had the weekend alone.
    We did many very exciting activities without the children, like….

    …purchasing new ink at Best Buy.
    …making a few returns at The Home Depot.
    …eating gigantic cheeseburgers.
    …finding a new book for our girls at the teacher’s store.
    …getting new light bulbs for the basement.

    Can you imagine anything more romantic than light bulbs?! ;)


    We actually had a great, great weekend.
    I believe the clock was ticking twice as fast as usual, Saturday seemed to fly.

    I’ll tell you, I wasn’t ready for our time to end.

    Sunday afternoon we met Jeff’s parents (and sister and her family) at Catigny.
    It is such a lovely place to visit. and even though nothing was in bloom yet, it was still beautiful.
    We had a wonderful time walking the grounds. 

    We toured Robert McCormick’s house and went to the war museum.
    If you have never been…Go! take your kids, go yourself, go with a group. It is such a neat place.

    It’s $5 to park your car…everything else is free.
    Pack a lunch and spend the day.

    If you have boys (or girls), they will be in heaven climbing all over the many war tanks.
    Summertime the gardens are beautiful! and in the fall…Gorgeous! 

    The girls spent the day with my family hiking and having a grand old time.
    They are still over there sewing with my mom and running through her woods with my brothers.
    They want to move in with my mother. They said they don’t miss me, but they still love me. ;)

    Hope your week was off to a good start.
    Our day started off rainy, then the sun came out this afternoon.

    The rest of the week is looking to be rainy and chilly. This is April in the Midwest. 
    and I’m okay with it. I’m okay with it. I’m okay with it. (maybe if I say it enough times I will believe it :)

Comments (13)

  • It rained here today too.  Love the dress.  It seems like most of them are strapless these days.  Glad your anniversary weekend was good.

  • Happy anniversary! You guys were so cute!

  • Love your dress! Still like the old fashioned? ones. Should be always be in fashion! Glad you had a wonderful weekend! Beautiful pictures!

  • Happy Anniversary!  :)

  • Your dress!! It was adorable!! This was such a cute post :)

  •         Such a wonderful post about love.  xoxo   Happy Anniversary!  The picture of you guys kissing is so sweet and beautiful.  And I LOVE that you wore your Grandmother’s dress!

  • We haven’t got much of the rain promised except at night when I was sleeping… so that is cool.  But might have some wicked thunderstorms tonight.  We just put up our trampoline and I am afraid it is going to fly away if we don’t get it anchored down. 

    Loved your wedding picture!  Love that your still so much in love.  Happy Anniversary!

  • Happy Anniversary!! I know what you mean about the time flying by when you are having fun with just your man!   I loved your wedding picture! So fun to look at. And you looked so pretty in your Grandma’s dress!

  • you were/ ARE a beautiful bride and i love how much you love him!
    so glad you got the weekend alone. those times are so nice~
    happy anniversary to you both!!
    next year plan an anniversary trip north. ;) )

  • Happy anniversary!!  You two are one of THE best looking couples I’ve ever seen, but that’s not the only reason I like you. :) I cannot even tell you how encouraged and inspired I am by your love for your husband! I just don’t see much of that past the honeymoon, it seems! I wish for you many more years, with each one getting better than before!

    It’s so great you had a weekend together! Those are just the very best!
    xoxo

  • @ata_grandma - Thank you. I loved that it was my Grandma’s dress. and I know! Everyone does seem to wear strapless. 

  • That dress is very cool. So classic and timeless, an heirloom dress for sure. Lace is so the rage right now, a person could wear it today and it would still look current
    Happy anniversary!!

  • I grew up going to Cantigny ALL THE TIME!! MY parents live less then a mile from there!!!

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *