April 10, 2013

  • Must all my titles start with rain?

    I have been reading lovely spring stories of being outside and planting flowers and eating ice cream in sunshine and curtains blowing in warm breezes….all while sitting by my fire-filled wood stove.

    Rain falling, wind whipping and a little snow in the forecast for tomorrow.  
    Windows still shut from winter and blankets are needed during quiet reading time. 
    Inside is cozy. and here we are…..inside.

    Soon enough it will be hot and sunny and months will pass and I will be excited all over again to sit by my burning, wood stove while cookies bake in the oven. So content I will (try to) be.

    April showers bring May flowers. and I love flowers. :)

    Jeff was home today from work. It made our morning feel like Saturday.
    I made strawberry-stuffed french toast {with real maple syrup} and bacon. 
    Our house smelled like the weekend…a nice little midweek perk.

    We didn’t get dressed until almost lunch time and
    a documentary on Auschwitz took precedence over math this afternoon.

    If you have Netflix, it’s definitely worth the watch.
    We didn’t get through each episode, planning on finishing them up this week if we have time.

    We have been reading and learning about the Holocaust the past few days.
    I have learned so much. I thought I knew a lot about it…I didn’t.
    It was such an evil, evil place in history. 

    Soon pretty daisies will be blooming again.
    Until then, I will enjoy my fire and hot cup of coffee while watching
    cold raindrops smack against my window. :)

    Happy day to you.

    *Great Stuffed French Toast ideas.

Comments (10)

  • Two requests.  Please?
    Will you please send me the recipe for the strawberry-stuffed French toast?  Looks like just the thing…
    Will you please send me the link/title for the film about Auschwitz?  I teach history in Crystal Lake and just yesterday took my students to the Illinois Holocaust Museum.  They were less than splendid, but that’s besides the point.  I am looking for a movie to show the about the Holocaust. 
    You can send both to my e-mail at schoolymom4@yahoo.com.
    Thanks bunches!!

  • the toasts looks yummeh!

    i hope i’d have a wife that can make great food like you can

  • That French toast looks wonderful!! I LOVE stuffed French toast! And with strawberries? Hmmmm, maybe I’ll make that tomorrow night for supper. :)
    And wow, that is a tender, sad subject to be studying. That made such an impression on me in school, the sheer horror of it all. What a wicked world it is without Jesus!

    And I hope you get your flowers and sunshine SOON!! :)
    xoxo

  • Yum. I know what you mean about the weather. It was 81 and toasty here yesterday. Today? 43 and rainy. I had to get my coat back out. 

  • stuffed french toast.. never heard of it, but sounds great!
    i love french toast. and pancakes and waffles.. and just about anything w/ syrup on it. ;) )

    the weather is the same here. back and forth..today is just gray.
    i’ll take gray over snow though, so it’s good! :) )

    have a great rest of the day~ xo

  • we didn’t get enough rain this year…so the hills are turning brown already.  But we did enjoy the early spring. 

    Your cozy day with the stove and midweek/weekend meal sounded so nice.  It seems like I am always learning a bit more about the holocaust, and that time in history.  So worthwhile studying.  “The hiding place” is my favorite, as it tells of those who sacrificed so much to make a difference, and also how God met them in the midst of such evil and suffering.

  • Well I’m glad at least I’m not the only one living in Siberia :) :) can I tell I’m home now? Yes wooly socks again… Kind of annoying:)

  • @MelodyMgo - I tried to email you back, but for some reason I can’t get an email to send. It keeps telling me that the address can’t be sent! I will send you a message through xanga instead. :)

  • @Elizabethmarie_1 - It may not be “send-able.”  I just tried to log in to read the message, and it wouldn’t take the username-mail/password i thought I used.  (And, of course, I had it remember me, so all that shows up on my sign-in is asterisks!  It’s been a while, so i may have changed an e-mail.  But I’ll wait a bit and see what shakes out from my attempt to reset my password.  I am so lame at this computer stuff!  I know what I know, and, when things change, AACK!

  • Bwahaha!  When I sent that comment above, it signed me in.  I’m sneaky and fooled it!

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *