May 23, 2012

  • A cry for help.

    I thought I’d share with you an email my sister forwarded over to me ~

    Our culture works hard to save the Earth, to prevent animals from going extinct, and that’s all fine, but there is a MASS GENOCIDE going on in Sudan RIGHT NOW where PEOPLE – innocent lives- are dying from starvation. THOUSANDS of people are being isolated in the mountains by the government -forced to eat only bugs and bark to stay alive, but they are dying…. THIS IS NOT RIGHT!

    You can check out the website http://www.savethenuba.com/

    This two minute video is worth watching. I tried posting it on my site, but it’s not working.
     
    We are so blessed in this country. So blessed to be able to put food on our table. Drink clean water.
    Eat dinner on our back porches. To publicly bow our heads and pray and not have to worry.

    Forgive me God for being so selfish and ungrateful.

    When comparing ourselves to others, we need to look at the less fortunate.
    Then we will see how MUCH we really do have!!!

    Now go sign that petition!

Comments (15)

  • it is true that because we always compare ourselves with those who have more, rather than those who barely have anything, that we tend to be ungrateful of all the things that we have..

  • Thanks for sharing! why is it so easy to forget how blessed we really are….

  • Hey, that link is not working.  Did I do something wrong?

  • the link isn’t working for me, either.  Will pray for those dear people!

  • i love your passion and truth.

    yes, forgive me, too. for just living with my head buried in the sand too much. and whining about kitchen remodels when i should be grateful we can pray over chicken and salad vs starving over bugs and bark….

  • It is so easy to live in our own little world and forget about what is going on elsewhere.  Thanks for the reminder!  It is hard for me to imagine people being treated like that! 

  • I can tell this deeply touched your compassionate heart, and yes, it makes us aware of all the many many gifts we have!!

  •  Very sad. Hurts to know there are people (brothers and sisters in Christ) suffering out there and we can’t physically be there to help. But…we can pray, and that is huge.       “The effectual fervent prayer of a righteous man availeth much.”  James 5:16

  • @thegrabertribe - @maniacsicko - @jmtmpm - @Carsonsmom2 - @appalolly - @seekinHISwisdom - @lin789 -  Sorry!!! I don’t know what I did…..the link is working now. =)

  • Thanks for bringing this to our attention Liz.  It is heartbreaking.  signed the petition and praying.

  • whoa. that video gave me a chill. ignorance. apathy. or action. and the power of silence is sobering. lives are altered, even ended. simply because our mouths are closed. thanks for sharing liz. i need to go clean up the 37 plates in my sink…

  • what i didn’t say and meant was…i’m going to clean up the 37 dishes in the sink with a different attitude and perspective.

  • I often think of this even when my house is a mess {aka most days} and try to remind myself that it’s because we HAVE that things end up in shambles.  somehow I think the mothers who’s children have nothing don’t have to be on their cases about cleaning up….there would be little to no cleaning up to do.

    Great reminder this morning!

  • Recently I’ve become a lot more aware of what’s going on in Sudan and it breaks my heart… I can’t imagine going through what these people face every day! That reminds me, have you seen Machine Gun Preacher? It’s good… you should see it. My husband and I loved it. 

  • Such tragedy! Like your mom said, “we can pray, and that is huge.” Amen, sister!

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *